Polyphasic taxonomy of Aspergillus section Fumigati and its teleomorphNeosartorya


Samson RA, Hong S, Peterson SW, Frisvad JC, Varga J

Date: 23 January 2008


The taxonomy of Aspergillus section Fumigati with its teleomorph genus Neosartorya is revised. The species concept is based on phenotypic (morphology and extrolite profiles) and molecular (β-tubulin and calmodulin gene sequences) characters in a polyphasic approach. Four new taxa are proposed: N. australensis, N. ferenczii, N. papuaensis and N. warcupii. All newly described and accepted species are illustrated. The section consists of 33 taxa: 10 strictly anamorphic Aspergillus species and 23 Neosartorya species. Four other Neosartorya species described previously were not available for this monograph, and consequently are relegated to the category of doubtful species.

Link to DOI:


Register / Log in to download the full article

Our sponsors